Big Bang Theory

I thought it might be appropriate to officially launch my new-and-improved writer’s blog with a brief post dedicated to story openers.

My MFA friend Liz recently shared a short story with me called Vern in the Dinner. I don’t know if I ever told her this, but the first line totally hooked me:

“Pearl wants to scatter Vern in the yard.”

It got me thinking about the utility of a home-run opening line, especially for short stories. I soon came up with one of my own, and the tale that has grown out of it (still an early draft), has me very excited. Here’s the opening line for my short story Forgotten Playground:

“Though Jason eventually convinced himself otherwise, he had, in fact, pushed his father down the stairs.”

Without thinking too deeply about it, my favorite story opener ever probably comes from The Hobbit. Simple, succinct, a bit cutesy, and yet epic all at once:

“In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit.”

Feel free to share some of your favorite opening lines of short stories, novels, or whatever…

3 Responses to “Big Bang Theory”

  1. “It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single man of good fortune must be in want of a wife.” Or something like that. I hated this line when I first read it in High School. Now it cracks me up every time.

  2. I too like that opening line from The Hobbit. Like Hobbits, it is unassuming.

Leave a Reply

