NaNoWriMo – Because I can’t NOT post about it…

So, here’s the deal:  I’m not “technically” participating in National Novel Writing Month, because I’m not playing by their rules:

On November 1, begin writing your novel. Your goal is to write a 50,000-word novel by midnight, local time, on November 30th. You write on your own computer, using whatever software you prefer…

If you write 50,000 words of fiction by midnight, local time, November 30th, you can upload your novel for official verification, and be added to our hallowed Winner’s Page and receive a handsome winner’s certificate and web badge. We’ll post step-by-step instructions on how to scramble and upload your novel starting in mid-November.

nonowrimo09But I am working diligently on a novel!  I very much hope to finish it before the end of the month, too.  Unfortunately, it’ll clock in at 330 pages or so (110,000 words) and I started it years ago.

I just calculated it out:  Since my Paternity Leave began on October 7, I’ve cranked out more than 70 fresh, crisp pages on Tear of the Sunbird.  That comes out to a respectable 22,000 words.  It’ll be 35k by the time I’m through.  Can I have an honorable mention?  Does NaNoWriMo give out badges for friends of the cause?  Or am I like the guy who jumps into the marathon at mile 7 without having paid to run the race?

(If they won’t give me an honorary badge, you KNOW what I have to say about that!  Badges?  We don’t need no stinkin’…)

PS:  A quick tip of the hat to my poetry friend Jen, who is tackling NaNoWriMo with abandon, even though she has a 7 month-old baby, she’s selling her house before the end of the month, and she’s moving to Europe by year’s end!

One Response to “NaNoWriMo – Because I can’t NOT post about it…”

  1. I’ll admit I have such mixed feelings about NaNoWrMo. On the one hand, I certainly like that it asks people to carve out time for writing and to just get going, which is key. On the other hand though, it really bothers me that it seems to say, this is what novel writing is: a bunch of words on pages. It’s good to use it as an incentive to get writing but it seems to trivialize the process of novel writing for me with all of the sweat and tears that go into that. Would anyone start a “National PhD in Month” month? How about a “National Medical Degree in a Month?” And then you get a badge LOL. Anyway, that’s my sourpuss notion. It shows how much we value the learning that goes into the craft of writing in a sense.

Leave a Reply

