My ARCs have arrived!

This is one of those milestones as a writer when I just can’t help but do a little dance. My first Advance Reader Copies showed up at my door today! I opened the box and there it was: my book! My novel! A stack of them. Something I wrote. Bound. With covers. Shipped from Random House. And my name is on them! I’ve worked really hard for this moment. I have to say, the satisfaction runs very deep. But I won’t bore you with any more of my elation. I know, I know, you get it already. I just want to add that I feel very fortunate and blessed. I’m a lucky, lucky bastard. I owe a lot of thanks to many, many people for the pleasure of arriving at this moment, and I know it. I’m so grateful.

ISLANDS ARCs

A little about ARCs: Advance Reader Copies are the first manifestation of a book that a publisher produces in order to get the manuscript out to people for review. I’ve been given a few copies of mine, but mostly the publisher is sending it out to critics and certain other relevant places. They’re rough cuts, still. The covers are flimsy and the printing is done cheaply. But it still gives reviewers and targeted audiences a chance to envision a manuscript as an actual book, and allows interested parties a convenient way to review the material (reading manuscripts several hundred pages long as Word docs on 8 1/2 x 11 sheets gets old really fast). ARCs often still have mistakes within them, and there is still time for the author and the publisher to tweak content and fix lingering typos, etc., before the novel actually goes to press. That’s the short of it. I’m sure you get the idea. It’ll still be several months before I get to see the final, hardcover version of the book that will be for sale at bookstores. From this point forward though, the story feels like it has finally left my mind and become something…real. I’m so thrilled!

Leave a Reply

