Have we got TREASURES for you! Welcome to the TEAM BLUE Fall 2015 YA Scavenger Hunt!

7b1b9-scavengerhunt

Blue Team

WOOT! You found your way over to Austin Aslan during the Fall 2015 YA Scavenger Hunt! Congratulations, you Sherlock, you. You may have arrived here via Livia Blackburn. Awesome. (And my Team Blue #YASH host is Megan Crewe. Check it out!) If you happen to not know what the heck I’m talking about, Go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page to find out all about the hunt. And if you’re experiencing any technical glitches, don’t worry, Glitch Happens. Go here for some tasty medicine.

Well, I was wracking my brain for how to write up this post, and then the PERFECT thing happened this week. You’re currently on a treasure hunt, right? RIGHT? Well, have you heard about this week’s discovery in Egypt’s Valley of the Kings of what could be NEW CHAMBERS BEHIND KING TUTANKHAMUN’S TOMB!!!!! It’s believed that Queen Nefretiti herself might be lying undisturbed behind the walls. O.M.G. This would be one of the biggest global news events in a century if it turns out to be true. Tut-mania and Nefretiti-mania would storm the world all over again, and almost exactly 100 years following Howard Carter’s original discovery of Tut’s tomb in the Valley of the Kings. So cool. With this, and the discovery of contemporary running water on Mars, this week is off to a rocking start. Score two massive points for science!

Take a quick time-out from the YA Scavenger Hunt and follow this link and completely geek out with me for a sec. This is so awesome. It’s an interactive website that allows you to study the tomb’s high-rez wall images yourself. Can you find evidence of hidden doors? Can you detect the clues? You’re the Sherlock, remember? (And yes, I do mean the Benedict Cumberbatch one.) Take the high-rez images for a spin!

Oh, hi! You’re back! Well, was that as good for you as it was for me? I’m on cloud nine about this. You may think that odd, but a shameless boast to illuminate why: I was in Egypt and visited the Valley of the Kings just this past April. It was unbelievable! I’d gladly go back to the Nile 144 (ONE HUNDRED AND FORTY-FOUR) more times! And here’s a picture that I took of my daughter standing in front of the very wall that’s hiding more treasure. Dang! I wish I had noticed the secret doors when I was there. OH THE GLORY COULD HAVE BEEN ALL MINE!!! It kills me to have to admit this, but I guess I’m not that great of an archaeologist. Oh well, I’m in good company. This secret has been hidden in plain sight for 100 years now!

15.03 Egypt - 05 Valley of the Kings25

I love that this bi-annual event was first organized by Colleen Houck, author of the runaway hit REAWAKENED. This is a great PR moment for her. All things Egypt are about to become sizzling hot hot hot!

AND NOW FOR THE MAIN EVENT! I’M HOSTING VICTORIA SCOTT!

I’m very excited for Victoria Scott, the YA author I’m hosting for this scavenger hunt. She’s sitting on an awesome undiscovered treasure, herself. Her new series opener, TITANS will release from Scholastic soon, February 2016.

Victoria Scott is a teen fiction writer represented by Sara Crowe of the Harvey-Klinger Literary Agency. She’s the author of the FIRE & FLOOD series published by Scholastic, and the DANTE WALKER trilogy published by Entangled Teen. Her first stand-alone young adult title, TITANS, will be published by Scholastic in spring 2016.

Victoria’s newest release, SALT & STONE, received a starred review by Kirkus Reviews, and the first book in the series, FIRE & FLOOD, has been nominated as a YALSA Teens’ Top 10 book for 2015. Victoria’s novels have been bought and translated in eleven foreign markets. She currently lives in Dallas, and hearts cotton candy something fierce.

 

BONUS ROUND!!!

Victoria has provided me with some real gems of bonus material for you to study. The graphics below are the very first lines she’s released from the book. Hmmm. They’re like…clues. I wonder what treasures are hiding behind these doors. I have a guess, in the famous words of Howard Carter himself upon achieving his first glimpse into Tut’s tomb: “Things. Wonderful things.”

Titans Square 3

Titans Square 2

Titans Square 1

Best of luck, Victoria, with the upcoming new series! And best of luck to you, Sherlock. May you win many “wonderful things” in this YA Scavenger Hunt. Before you scurry off to visit the next author on the hunt, Eve Silver, please feel free to peek around my entire site for a while and follow the links to my two YA survival-disaster sci fi novels, THE ISLANDS AT THE END OF THE WORLD and THE GIRL AT THE CENTER OF THE WORLD. And please leave a comment below, let me know you stopped by!

[[***Please note that this post will come down a bit early, on Sunday afternoon, as I’m taking off at that point for my epic two-month, 800-mile Arizona Trail thru hike. Please learn more on this blog link and be sure to follow me on twitter, tumblr, instagram and facebook to follow my adventure in real time!***]]

MOVE ALONG FOLKS, YOU’VE ONLY GOT FOUR DAYS TO GET THROUGH THIS!
Great work Dr. Holmes. Please continue your delectable YA Scavenger Hunt by visiting the next lovely author: Eve Silver. Go! Do it! DO IT NOW!!!
5 Responses to “Have we got TREASURES for you! Welcome to the TEAM BLUE Fall 2015 YA Scavenger Hunt!”

  1. Thanks for participating. I always thought Egypt would be nice to visit, but I am a bit wary of what’s happening in the news.

  2. Loved the interactive photos!!! Coolest thing I’ve found in YASH so far!

  3. Have a fantastic trip!! And thanks for participating, of course 🙂

Leave a Reply

