Welcome, Fall’16 YA Scavenger Hunters!

7b1b9-scavengerhunt

Blue Team

WOOT! You found your way over to Austin Aslan during the Fall 2016 YA Scavenger Hunt! Congratulations. You may have arrived here via Christina Farley. Awesome. (And my Team Blue #YASH host is J. Keller Ford. Check it out!) If you happen to not know what the heck I’m talking about, Go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page to find out all about the hunt. And if you’re experiencing any technical glitches, don’t worry, Glitch Happens. Go here for some tasty medicine.

So, here’s the deal. I actually have some very exciting book related news to share. But… I can’t share it yet. This is true! I wish I could say more, but you’re very welcome to check in with me over the next little while to see if I’m able to shed any light on what’s brewing. Meanwhile, instead of slowing down your blog hunt with a fluffy, superfluous blog post (which you’d just skim anyway), I’ll get on with the show.

144 (ONE HUNDRED AND FORTY-FOUR)

 

You’re welcome.

AND NOW FOR THE MAIN EVENT! I’M HOSTING Mary Elizabeth Sumner!

I’m very excited for Mary Elizabeth Sumner, the YA author I’m hosting for this scavenger hunt.

Elizabeth has provided me with some real gems of bonus material for you to study.

SCAVENGER HUNT POST

MaryElizabethSummer_AuthorPhotoMary Elizabeth Summer contributes to the delinquency of minors by writing books about unruly teenagers with criminal leanings. She has a BA in creative writing from Wells College, and her philosophy on life is “you can never go wrong with sriracha sauce.” She lives in Portland Oregon with her wife, their daughter, their scaredy-dog lab/pitbull mix, and their evil overlor—er, cat. She is represented by the incomparable Laura Bradford of the Bradford Literary Agency.

| Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Amazon

 

Trust Me, I’m Trouble

In this action-packed sequel to Trust Me, I’m Lying, Julep takes a shady case that requires her to infiltrate a secretive organization that her long-gone mother and the enigmatic blue fairy may be connected to. Her best friend, Sam, isn’t around to help her, and Dani, her one true confidante, is a mob enforcer with a moral compass as questionable as Julep’s. But there’s not much time to worry about right and wrong—or to save your falling heart—when people are trying to kill you.

Buy Links: Amazon | Book Despository | Powell’s | B&N

Trust Me, I'm Trouble (Trust Me, #2)


Annotated Scene from TRUST ME, I’M TROUBLE

For this excerpt, I wanted to pick a scene that gave a good flavor of both the plot and Julep’s character without giving too much of the story away. In the end, I chose this scene, because it was a fun one to write, and because it’s one of the few scenes for which I used something I already knew versus something I had to research.

If you’ve read Trust Me, I’m Lying, then you probably already know that I like to set as many scenes as possible in unusual places. This scene is no exception. You’ll see once you start reading it.

Each page of the excerpt is its own image. Click each thumbnail to read the margin notes. Then click your browser’s back button to return to the post.

Remember…the most dangerous lie is the one you want to believe…

Slide1

 

Slide2

 

Slide3

Best of luck, Elizabeth, with the upcoming new novel! And best of luck to you, fearless hunter. Before you scurry off to visit the next author on the hunt, Tobie Easton, please feel free to peek around my entire site for a while and follow the links to my two YA survival-disaster sci fi novels, THE ISLANDS AT THE END OF THE WORLD and THE GIRL AT THE CENTER OF THE WORLD. And please leave a comment below, let me know you stopped by!

And please check out my recent photo essays for Gore-Tex(R) chronicling my epic two-month, 800-mile Arizona Trail thru hike. And be sure to follow me on twitter, tumblr, instagram and facebook to follow my adventures in real time!

MOVE ALONG FOLKS, YOU’VE ONLY GOT FOUR DAYS TO GET THROUGH THIS!
Please continue your delectable YA Scavenger Hunt by visiting the next lovely author: Tobie Easton. Go! Do it! DO IT NOW!!!
4 Responses to “Welcome, Fall’16 YA Scavenger Hunters!”

  1. theresajs Says:

    thanks for participating in the hunt!!! I have enjoyed all the extras from the authors as well as finding new-to-me authors!
    I recently purchased your book! I’m looking forward to read it soon!

    • Austin Aslan Says:

      Thank you so much! I hope you’ll enjoy it. Be sure to leave an Amazon review in either case! Your support is important to me personally and I deeply appreciate it.

  2. Debi Tonks Says:

    Thanks for doing this! Gave me more books to add to my to read list 🙂

Leave a Reply

