Fall 2017 YA Scavenger Hunt!

Team

Hi! You found your way over to Austin Aslan during the Spring 2017 YA Scavenger Hunt! Congratulations. You may have arrived here via JENNIFER DIGIOVANNI. Awesome. (And my Team Gold #YASH host is Jillian Dodd. Check it out!) If you happen to not know what the heck I’m talking about, Go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page to find out all about the hunt. And if you’re experiencing any technical glitches, don’t worry, Glitch Happens. Go here for some tasty medicine.

So, here’s the deal. I actually have some very exciting book related news to share. But… I can’t share it yet. This is STILL true! I will be able to share more very soon, so stay posted. Meanwhile, instead of slowing down your blog hunt with a fluffy, superfluous blog post (which you’d just skim anyway), I’ll get on with the show.

144 (ONE HUNDRED AND FORTY-FOUR)

 

You’re welcome.

AND NOW FOR THE MAIN EVENT! I’M HOSTING Chanda Stafford!

Chanda has provided me with a deleted excerpt from her YA dystopian, First. This novel takes place in a world where the elite can live forever if they transfer their minds into a younger person’s body. This works out great for the adults, but has tragic consequences for the kids.

 

In this deleted scene, one of the main characters, Socrates, is on his way to view potential candidates for his next Exchange procedure.

___________________________________________________________________________

“Do you really think you’re going to find someone at Chesaning?” Ed stares out the blimp’s window, his hands clasped behind his back. “It’s in the middle of nowhere. They’re all hicks. No one’s been chosen from there in years.” The sun glistens off of the wispy gray hairs stretching across his head.

“Frost picked a boy from there not too long ago.” I settle back into my seat and let the soft synthetic material caress my skin. Ben whines at my feet, his ears pressed tight against his skull. He hates flying. I stroke his head until the brown and black shepherd mix settles at my feet. “Good boy.”

Ed harrumphs. “We should go back to Darson, or that one outside of Nashville…” He snaps his fingers, trying to remember the name. “Presley. That’s it. I heard three kids got picked from there last year.”

“I’m not going back. The candidates aren’t going to change enough in a few months for me to change my mind. You know whoever I pick has got to be special.”

“Yes, well,” Ed grumbles, but he doesn’t continue his argument. He knows choosing the perfect candidate for this delicate procedure is extremely important. My life depends on it. I haven’t lived for five hundred years just to take risks with my own mortality now.

He turns to me, and now he stands silhouetted against the light. I can’t make out the stern set to his thin lips or the way he squints his eyes, as if that’ll help him see better, but I know it’s there. That’s what happens when you’ve known someone most of their lives.

“As your advisor, I feel that I need to remind you that we don’t have much time left. You need to make a decision.”

“Duly noted,” I reply, my voice dry.

Sunlight streams through the oval-shaped windows, right onto my dry, wrinkled hands. The paper thin skin sags around veins and bones barely pumping blood. I’ve never been this old before. There’s a kind of tragic beauty to it. The ending of a life, the decomposition of a body, while its heart is still beating. Still, I’ll be relieved after I’ve found a Surrogate. Ed’s right, I’m cutting it close this time.

The intercom beeps, and the pilot announces that we’ve reached our destination and are about to land.

“I have a good feeling about Chesaning, my old friend. I’m sure we’ll find the right candidate here.” We have to. With cancer eating at my body and my mind, I have to act fast or I won’t have much of a soul left for the procedure.

###

Exciting stuff, Chanda! All right, fearless hunter, off you go… But before you scurry off to visit the next author on the hunt, Margo Kelly, please feel free to peek around my entire site for a while and follow the links to my two YA survival-disaster sci fi novels, THE ISLANDS AT THE END OF THE WORLD and THE GIRL AT THE CENTER OF THE WORLD. And please leave a comment below, let me know you stopped by!

And please check out my recent photo essays for Gore-Tex(R) chronicling my epic two-month, 800-mile Arizona Trail thru hike. And be sure to follow me on twitter, tumblr, instagram and facebook to follow my adventures in real time!

MOVE ALONG FOLKS, YOU’VE ONLY GOT A FEW DAYS TO GET THROUGH THIS!
Please continue your delectable YA Scavenger Hunt by visiting the next lovely author: Margo Kelly. Go! Do it! DO IT NOW!!!

 

3 Responses to “Fall 2017 YA Scavenger Hunt!”

  1. Hi! Thank you so much for this opportunity :):)

  2. Thanks for the info

  3. Hi.
    Thank you for being part of the hunt. It’s really fun and a great opportunity to find new-to-me authors.

Leave a Reply

